I Am Needed Less and Less

img_0564

Feeling needed feels good! I confess that I love to feel needed. Today I realized that I am needed less and less, and that is a good feeling also. The children are becoming independent thinkers/learners.

I must be careful that my own need to be needed doesn’t interfere with the children’s need for independence.”   Darrell

Today I noticed this child at the easel working with paint. She wasn’t tall enough to place the blue clips on the large paper for painting. She didn’t come to me for help. She quietly, gracefully moved to the water fountain, borrowed the water fountain’s step stool, placed the paper against the easel, and placed the blue clips on the paper securing it for painting. It was beautiful!

It’s necessary that we believe that the child is very intelligent, that the child is strong and beautiful and has very ambitious desires and requests. This is the image of the child that we need to hold. Those who have the image of the child as fragile, incomplete, weak, made of glass, gain something from this belief only for themselves. We don’t need that as an image of children. Instead of always giving children protection, we need to give them the recognition of their rights and of their strengths.” (Malaguzzi, 1994)

2 thoughts on “I Am Needed Less and Less

  1. Darrell, I can relate to your desire to feel needed in the classroom- to “add value” to situations, conversations to reinforce the ego! The perspective that it is a right of children to recognize their strengths requires that we make shifts in our own ways of acting thinking, believing! I appreciate your comment about not allowing our adult needs and ideas to interfere with the needs of the children (or any learner for that matter!). Such constant work to “Stay out of the way”, yes?!

    • Armadina, Thanks for taking the time to read my blog, and to comment. I like your own quote, “Stay out of the way.” I am always open to critique in helping to improve my blog space. Darrell

Leave a Reply

