I Was Tempted to Add to Her Work, but I Resisted

IMG_6292

At dismissal time I noticed one of the children busily working in the natural items area.  It was time to go home, but she was so focused on this particular work that I let her work until her Mom came to collect her.  When Mom came she asked if we could leave the work up so that she could continue to work with it on the next school day.  She told me that she was in the process of making a cake.  My mind began to conjure up all kinds of delicious cakes of different sizes, textures, layers, etc.  Now this is what I consider provocative work:  work that provokes imaginative thought.  Such work can be a powerful small moment during writer’s workshop.

I was tempted to add to her work, but I resisted.

Leave a Reply

