Such hope, such joy, such longing that I find in the lives of the children. They inspire me!

IMG_8741 rootsIMG_8745 storing treasure

 

It’s out in the open, natural surroundings, free of walls, that restrict our connection to the outside world, that I find children most creative, excited, uninhibited, different, revived, and inspired.  Children and the outdoor world were made for each other.  Holes in large logs become treasure chests housing unique, weathered,  prized branches, limbs, and other artifacts seen as invaluable through the lens of a child.

For several days, I watched with interest -play- using a bundle of brown, wet roots that the children revered as top treasure.  This bundle was coveted by many of the children.  I heard them talk about it, plan for its use, dream about it, and race toward when it became visible.

Upon closer look, I could understand its charm, bewitching allure, magnetism, everything prop, and I actually found myself racing toward it, hoping I got it first, longing to create play using this mass of roots that had given life to some beautiful tree in the past.  Such hope, such joy, such longing that I find in the lives of the children.  They inspire me!

Leave a Reply

